7 Billion Fee Performance Tax Imposed


“To reporters covering the RIAA-backed effort to impose as much as a $7 billion fee (or “performance tax”) on local radio stations:

Fifteen additional members of the U.S. House of Representatives have recently expressed their support for a bipartisan resolution recognizing the promotional value that free radio airplay of music provides to record labels and recording artists. The resolution, introduced in late October, now has 119 co-sponsors – including its authors, Reps. Gene Green (D-TX) and Mike Conaway (R-TX).

The 15 new signers are Reps. Sue Myrick (R-NC), Ron Paul (R-TX), William Lacy Clay (D-MO), Sanford Bishop (D-GA), Paul Broun (R-GA), Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ), Doris Matsui (D-CA), Tom Price (R-GA), Tim Johnson (R-IL), Michael Castle (R-DE), Candice Miller (R-MI), Robert Aderholt (R-AL), Kenny Hulshof (R-MO), Leonard Boswell (D-IA) and John Sullivan (R-OK).”

Dennis Wharton
Executive Vice President, Media Relations
National Association of Broadcasters