Radio Hall of Fame Recognizes WTOP-FM Director of News and Programming Julia Ziegler With “One to Watch” Award


 The Museum of Broadcast Communications announced today that the RADIO HALL OF FAME has named Julia Ziegler, Director of News and Programming for Hubbard Broadcasting’s WTOP-FM in Washington, DC, as the recipient of its One to Watch award. The One to Watch award was created in 2018 in honor of radio legend and 2012 Radio Hall of Fame inductee and radio legend Art Laboe, who passed away earlier this month at the age of 97. Each year, the RADIO HALL OF FAME Nominating Committee selects a promising radio personality or team who has demonstrated ratings success, audience growth, and impact on one or more radio stations and their communities.  

Ziegler, who began her career at WTOP in 2002 as an intern, was named WTOP’s Director of News and Programming in 2019. From 2015 to 2019, she served as WTOP’s Digital News Director, where she oversaw the creation and development of WTOP’s digital news products, including, the WTOP app, social media, video, podcasts, smart speakers and more. and was part of the WTOP team that created and produced the award-winning true crime podcast, 22 Hours: An American Nightmare. Prior to that, she was Managing Editor of WTOP’s sister station for seven years and was Executive Producer at Talk Radio 3WT and Washington Post Radio. Ziegler earned a B.A. in Journalism from Penn State and an M.A. in News Media Studies from American University. 

Dennis Green, Chair, Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee, said: “It is with great pride that we honor Julia Ziegler with this year’s One to Watch award.  Julia has literally done it all at a station that is one of the most highly respected in the nation.  From interning at WTOP to working her way up to Director of News and Programming while setting the station’s path in digital and social media, this recognition is well deserved.  On behalf of the Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee, congratulations, Julia, and continued success!” 

Joel Oxley, Senior Vice President/General Manager, Hubbard DC, commented: “I can’t begin to tell you how lucky I am to work with Julia, aka Julie, aka JZ! From intern, to being on the desk at TOP, to working with Washington Post Radio, to being the digital lead at Federal News Network, to running to, to now overseeing the entire WTOP news operation, Julie has brought an energy and dedication that is unparalleled. Right as she took over the newsroom, Covid hit and at the same time, Trump news reached its peak. She has deftly guided us through these incredibly challenging times and now is leading the charge to take our programming to where it needs to be in this ever-evolving landscape. Bottom line is that Julie is a winner and WTOP is beyond fortunate to have her leading our news team!” 

Julia Ziegler remarked: “I am so incredibly honored and touched to accept this award. I feel fortunate to work for a company like Hubbard Broadcasting that puts people first and gives them the support to reach their full potential and goals. Art Laboe was a legend in this industry because of his commitment to broadcasting excellence and connecting with so many people. That is something I try to emulate every day.” 

The Radio Hall of Fame will recognize its 2022 class of inductees at the in-person 2022 Radio Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Tuesday, November 1st, at Chicago’s Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel. Tickets are on sale now at: A portion of ticket purchases is a tax-deductible charitable donation to the Museum of Broadcast Communications.   

The Radio Hall of Fame was founded by the Emerson Radio Corporation in 1988. The Museum of Broadcast Communications took over operations in 1991.